Lucas Oil Late Models Ready For “Indiana Icebreaker” on April 9th

by Chris McWilliams on March 25, 2011

For the sixth consecutive year, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will sanction the $10,000 to win 14th Annual Indiana Icebreaker originally scheduled for Saturday, March 26th at the Brownstown (IN) Speedway. However the event like many others across the country had to be rescheduled due to very cold conditions. The event was going to mark the first stop after the DART Winternationals on the Sunoco Race Fuels Road to Wheatland in 2011 as 15 drivers with perfect attendance will be eligible for the $700 winners circle money once again as they make their way across America, heading to the 19th Annual DART Show-Me 100 at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO.

For more information on the Brownstown Speedway and the Indiana Icebreaker, go to  For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto

There will be a complete show for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, including Red Buck Cigar Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains, and the 50-lap $10,000 to win/$700 to start Indiana Icebreaker feature event.  The event will mark the series’ 13th appearance at the Tim and Farrah Keithley-promoted quarter-mile facility located at the Jackson County Fairgrounds in Brownstown, IN.  Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN is the defending “Indiana Icebreaker” winner, and is also the current LOLMDS Championship Points’ leader after the DART Winternationals at East Bay.  Other previous winners of the “Indiana Icebreaker” are Earl Pearson Jr. (2006, 2009), Terry Casey (2008), Billy Moyer (2007), Dan Sturgeon (2005), John Gill (2002, 2004), Don O’Neal (1999, 2000, 2003), Timmy Yeager (2001), and Tony Izzo Jr. (1998).  This year’s race should be very exciting as a full field of late model’s best drivers are expected to be in attendance to battle it out for the win.

2010 "Indiana Icebreaker" Champion Jimmy Owens in Action (Image Credit: Mark Albright)


Posted in News
Tagged with Lucas Oil Late Models, Indiana Icebreaker, Brownstown Speedway