PETALUMA, CA – JULY 7, 2012 – Petaluma Speedway hosted their second California Civil War Series event of the season Saturday night, which also was a point race for the Pit Stop USA Sprint Car Series.  Thirty-two Winged 360 Sprint Cars were on hand at the 3/8 mile adobe track to battle it out in front of a large and enthusiastic crowd.

Stephen Allard of Cameron Park headed into Saturday’s event ranking third in the Civil War Series point standings knowing he had a great opportunity to close in on series point leader Andy Forsberg in the Pit Stop USA sponsored x1 of F&F Racing with second place driver Kyle Hirst away running the KWS Series event at Watsonville. 

Allard took full advantage of the opportunity and led wire-to-wire in dominating fashion to secure the victory.  David Lindt, Jr. brought out the evenings only red flag when the #52 Heavy Metal Racing entry flipped in turn 4.  After the restart, Allard had a brief scare on lap 12 when he came perilously close to the turn 1 wall, briefly letting the current Pit Stop USA Sprint Car Series point leader Bradley Terrell slip past for the lead.  Allard did a masterful job recovering from the slip and immediately grabbed the lead back from Terrell with the x1 of Andy Forsberg in hot pursuit running third. 

Forsberg took advantage of a lap 20 restart to force his way pass Terrell for second place, but didn’t have anything for the #14 car of Allard who was not to be denied his first ever Petaluma Speedway victory and second Civil War Series win of 2012.  Allard’s victory moved him into second place in the California Civil War Series points, only 10 markers behind Forsberg.  Terrell extended his Pit Stop USA Sprint Car Series point lead with a solid third place run followed by Greg DeCaires and Chase Johnson.  Richard Bailey, Herman Klein, Mason More, Colby Wiesz and Geoff Ensign rounded out the top ten.

Calistoga’s Mike Benson started the night off with a blistering 12.839 second qualifying lap to secure the fast time for the evening.  Benson was the only car to break the 13 second bracket but unfortunately did not transfer out of his heat race and had to secure his main event starting position by winning the B-Main.  Several other of the faster qualifiers also had to secure transfers through the B-Main including Chase Johnson and Geoff Ensign.  Pit Stop USA Sprint Car Series regulars David Lindt, Jr., Bradley Terrell, and Richard Bailey secured heat race wins as did the most recent Civil War Series winner Colby Wiesz.

Geoff Ensign continued his winning ways in the Pit Stop USA Sprint Car Series non-wing event after DJ Johnson’s car was disqualified in post-race inspection.  Ensign started third then grabbed the second place spot from Taylor Simas on lap 17 and tried to chase down the nights fast qualifier #33 of Johnson who had stretched out a big lead on the 14 car field.  Simas finished second followed by Sparky Howard, Klint Simpson and Scott Dupont.  Zack Lynskey, Jeff Lee, Bill Cornwell and Dustin Baxter rounded out the top ten.

For more information on the Pit Stop USA Sprint Car Series visit the series website at

July 7, 2012


Fast Qualifier: Mike Benson 12.839.

Heat #1: David Lindt Jr., Jake Haulot, Koen Shaw, Mason Moore, Benson, Matthew Haulot, Billy Butler, Chase Wood.

Heat #2: Bradley Terrell, Art McCarthy Jr., Herman Klein, Robert Stice, Kenny Drew, Josh Ruhs, Ivan Worden, Adam McCarthy.

Heat #3: Richard Bailey, Kirk Simpson, Stephen Allard, Andy Forsberg, Chase Johnson, Roberto Kirby, Jim Richardson, Nick Davis.

Heat #4: Colby Wiesz, Jeremy Burt, Greg DeCaires, Jason Toft, Gary Burdick, Geoff Ensign, Cole Wood, Jimmy Steward.

B-Main: Benson, Ensign, Johnson, Worden, Drew, Burdick, Butler, Ruhs, M. Haulot, Chase Wood, Steward, Cole Wood, Davis, Richardson, Kirby.

Main Event: Stephen Allard, Andy Forsberg, Bradley Terrell, Greg DeCaires, Chase Johnson, Richard Bailey, Herman Klein, Mason Moore, Colby Wiesz, Geoff Ensign, Mike Benson, Kirk Simpson, Jason Toft, Jake Haulot, Robert Stice, Kenny Drew, Art McCarthy, Billy Butler, Gary Burdick, Koen Shaw, Ivan Worden, David Lindt, Jr.



Fast Qualifier: Zack Lynskey 14.955.

Heat #1: Alex Schutte, Taylor Simas, Klint Simpson, Geoff Ensign, Dustin Baxter, Jeff Lee.

Heat #2: Scott Dupont, Sparky Howard, Bret Barney, Lynskey, Fritz Leesman, Bill Cornwell, Joe Stornetta.

Main Event: Geoff Ensign, Taylor Simas, Sparky Howard, Klint Simpson, Scott Dupont, Zach Lynskey, Jeff Lee, Bill Cornwell, Dustin Baxter, Joe Stornetta, Bret Barney, Alex Schutte, Fritz Leesman