Mars Gets His Revenge At The DIRTcar Nationals

by John Gibson on February 17, 2011

(image credit:

Tuesday’s night of competition at the 2011 DIRTcar Nationals saw Don O’neal make a incredible last lap charge from third place to steal the win from Jimmy Mars on the final turn. However Wednesday night Jimmy Mars got his revenge capturing the checkered flag and the $7,000 winner’s check. “Last night we gave one up on the restart (with three laps remaining), so I was sure hoping we wouldn’t have another one (late in the race),” said Mars. “But the car was just stuck like suction cups out there. I’m telling you, this thing was unbelievable.”

For more information on the remaining schedule of the 2011 DIRTcar Nationals visit

Mars would take the lead from Jason Feger on Lap 16 and never look back. Rounding out the top 5 would be Jason Feger, Scott Bloomquist, Josh Richards, and Jonathan Davenport. Full results are below. The 2011 DIRTcar Nationals continue tonight with the World of Outlaw Late Models 2011 season opener. Racing along side the late models will be the SDS Big Block Modifieds. Fans can tune into the to watch the racing action tonight.

Results and starting positions from Wednesday night’s DIRTCar UMP Late Models

1. (3) Jimmy Mars

2. (2) Jason Feger

3. (6) Scott Bloomquist

4. (4) Josh Richards

5. (10) Jonathan Davenport

6. (5) Steve Francis

7. (13) Dan Schlieper

8. (9) Jimmy Owens

9. (8) Ron Davies

10. (15) Earl Pearson Jr.

11. (24) Tim McCreadie

12. (12) Dennis Erb Jr.

13. (11) Don O’Neal

14. (17) Will Vaught

15. (22) John Blankenship

16. (21) Billy Moyer

17. (18) Rick Eckert

18. (16) Casey Roberts

19. (19) Clint Smith

20. (23) Austin Hubbard

21. (20) Jack Sullivan

22. (25) Dillan White

23. (7) Larry Wight

24. (1) Mike Marlar

25. (14) Dale McDowell

  • Posted on   02/17/11 at 06:29:51 PM   by Edward  | 
  • RSS
  • |
  • More
Posted in News
Tagged with Jimmy Mars, DIRTcar Nationals, World of Outlaw Late Models