Tim Kaeding Wins King of the West at the Thunderbowl

by Stephanie Odom on April 19, 2011

Tim Kaeding in victory lane at the Thunderbowl with car owner Dennis Roth. (Photo by Paul Trevino Racing Photos)  

Tim Kaeding has an impressive resume when taking the high banked track at Tulare’s Thunderbowl Raceway. The San Jose native made an early pass by Tommy Tarlton for the lead and held off last week’s winner Jonathan Allard winning the Chris and Brian Faria Memorial this past Saturday night.

Kaeding is a favorite for this years King of the West Championship aboard his Roth Motorsports, HR Cattle No. 83. The win was his 49th in series competition.

“I just love racing at this place and it was fun there for a while racing with Tommy and then Jonathan came out nowhere too,” stated “TK”. “We’re racing back home this year with the King of the West Series and I have to thank Dennis & Teresa Roth for giving me the opportunity and my whole team for giving me a great car.”

When the green flag dropped Tarlton leaped to the lead from the pole position. Roger Crockett and Kaeding made moves following a double-filed restart moving Tarlton back. A spun car would take it all away though changing the restart to single file.

A few laps later Kaeding made the pass for the lead prior to another yellow flag. Allard, who won the season opener last weekend at Antioch Speedway, made a move past Kaeding for the lead running against the boards through one and two however a yellow flag would put Kaeding back in front.

With only a few laps remaining Kaeding appeared to have engine problems allowing Allard to close in and looked to make a move with the white flag in the air. The attempt wasn’t what he was expecting sending him up and over after catching the front stretch wall bringing out the final red flag of the evening. The race was called complete after the incident due to time sending Tim Kaeding to victory lane.

Tommy Tarlton finished second with Kyle Larson completing the podium. Larson made the charge forward from the fifth row. Jason Statler, Roger Crockett, Craig Stidham, Evan Suggs, Bud Kaeding, Mike Faria and Willie Croft filled in the top ten.

Next up for the King of the West will be Watsonville’s Ocean Speedway this Saturday night. For complete results, news, and information visit the series at


Posted in News