Bloomquist Wins Inaugural Lucas Oil Late Model Event at Lonestar

by Stephanie Odom on April 5, 2011

Scott Bloomquist standing in victory lane at Lonestar Speedway. It was the series first event in Texas and Bloomquist's first feature event in the state as well. Photo source:

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series ventured to Lonestar Speedway on Saturday night. It was the series first ever visit to Texas with two-time and defending series champion Scott Bloomquist took home the top spot and $20,000. Bloomquist started the feature event in tenth and moved into the lead with nine laps to go picking up his second series win of the season. Carpentersville, Illinois’ Dennis Erb Jr. finished in second place coming from seventeenth place with pole-sitter Don O’Neal rounding out the top three.

Photo by Jeff Huneycutt

Shannon Babb took the lead on the eighth lap and pulled away from the field until a caution was brought out on lap eighteen. Bloomquist was able to pass O’Neal for second place on lap 87 and then set his sites on the leader and closed in on Babb. Bloomquist continued his momentum and moved into the lead with nine laps remaining.

“We just bided our time there for a while; we fired real well on the restarts. We got some breaks with the cautions and we new eventually it would be a tire game,” stated Bloomquist. Bloomquist’s win was his first in Texas. Dennis Erb Jr., O’Neal, Earl Pearson Jr., Jimmy Owens, Mike Marlar, Billy Moyer, Dale McDowell, Tyler Reddick and Frank Heckenas rounded out the top ten.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will leave the Lonestar State and head to Brownstown, Indiana for the “Indiana Icebreaker” on Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway. For full race results, news and schedule visit

Posted in News
Tagged with Scott Bloomquist, Lucas Oil Late Model Event, Lonestar Speedway